, attached to 1997-11-16

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Third show of Phish Destroys America. Definitely lives in the shadow of the second night at McNichols, and perhaps doesn't live up the same consistent grandeur of the first two shows. Nevertheless, this is certainly above average Phish and features a particularly strong second set. Set 1 is notable for the second-ever BEK, which I'd venture to say is already on the right track to greatness. Right up next is the debut of Farmhouse. I know the song isn't a favorite for many folks these days, but I do really love going back and listening to it played in the original late-90s style. The Mule sit-in and the powerful Taste are nice, as well. Set 2 definitely draws more attention for good reason. The Timber opener is one of the sickest versions of the tune, diving real deep into to murky waters. The energetic thrashing in the middle of the jam is followed by a great, ambient droning segment. (Somewhere in there, Trey plays with a catchy little lick that aficionados will recognize from the following night's Johnny B Goode aka Denver Jam.) From out of the ashes, a cheeky early Frankie Says jam, which Trey takes expertly -> Simple. Simple itself also ends on a subdued, but beautifully textured note. The Denver run really features some lovely ambient passages. Yet again, Trey takes the opportunity to segue quite creatively and smoothly--this time into Wilson. The Harry Hood that follows teeters the Type I/II line without ever fully tipping over, but man is this version spirited and beautiful. Excellent moments of tension and relief in here with a fantastic peak (Page's piano work at 16 minutes...). Closing out the set with a strong Izabella, the fellas wrap up a damn hell of a set 2. Oh, that wasn't enough for you? How about a fucking ripper of a Bowie to encore? I know '93-'95 is really Bowie at its prime, but some of these '97-'98 versions really do insanely well.
, attached to 1995-12-02

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Prince Caspian, Runaway Jim, Mound > Guelah Papyrus, Reba, My Sweet One, Free, Taste That Surrounds, Bouncing Around the Room, Possum (all fall down signal) Not going to comment song by song here. Nothing is earth shattering but as you can imagine things are tight, tight, tight. First ever show opening Caspian, and that only happened a handful more times since. I have said this a bunch as I am working my way through this tour but here is another Runaway Jim that is fantastic. Reba is solid and Possum definitely smokes its way into set break. Very fun first set. SET 2: Also Sprach Zarathustra > Maze > Simple -> This segment is fire. 2001 is awesome coming out of the break, Maze is a rager and Simple has a little extra juice. Faht: Last one ever played. Tweezer: Take Me To The River by Al Green and Mabon "Teenie" Hodges at 13:45. You know it, you love it – the New Haven Tweezer. You won’t find anyone complain about any noodling in this one. It is just straight up, hair on fire, face melting, breakneck Phish. All-timer > A Day in the Life > Golgi Apparatus: Standard. The Squirming Coil: Carol of the Bells by Mykola Leontovych at 7:52. Page is great in his solo. Tweezer Reprise. ENCORE: Bold As Love -- Something about this night makes me think Trey was out for blood. Two more numbers here that features him ripping stuff up. Aggressive. Summary: TWEEZER!!! Outside of that you won’t find anything to hang your hat on regarding all time jams. Just a ton of solid Phish that is super tight and aggressive. I know I will draw some ire, especially considering the recent release of this on Live Phish – but it’s rated too high at 4.43. I am good at 4.2 out of 5.
, attached to 1996-12-01

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Peaches en Regalia: Huge bustout, had been shelved since December 31, 1994 (144 shows). Awesome! > Poor Heart: Trey sounds awesome. > Cavern > Cars Trucks Buses, Character Zero: Standard. The Curtain: Vocals sound great. > Down with Disease: Nicely extended versus what had been seen/heard previously on this tour. Really good jam! Train Song, The Horse > Silent in the Morning, Sample in a Jar: Standard. > Run Like an Antelope: Huge, huge peak. Face melter! SET 2: Tweezer: Live Bait 11. This is your typical 96 Tweezer until 10:15 when things take a turn for the dissonant, evil and weird. Twisted Fish cackle at 10:50. Around 13, Trey jumps on his drum kit and things get decidedly funky but still weird. Trey back on the doc at 14.5 and in a big way. Big solo, ripping it up. This ends quickly and is right into what sounds to me like the Moma Death March from 6.17.04. Lots of Fish antics in here. The last couple of minutes are false endings, and band antics. > Sparkle: Fish obviously was feeling no pain, check this one out. > Simple: Very, very cool. Has an almost three minute jam that is quite good, big fan. -> A Day in the Life: Killer segue but wish they would have kept jamming that Simple, it was really getting there… Reba: Very speedy and briefly funky after the composed. Plinko type stuff around 8:20. Turns out to be a good, but not a great Reba. Swept Away > Steep > Tweezer Reprise > Johnny B. Goode: Standard. > Slave to the Traffic Light: I remember this being a good bit better than what I just listened to. I was listening carefully as well. It’s solid but nothing too crazy. Great closer though. ENCORE: Highway to Hell – Perfect encore! Killer Tweezer, big Peaches bustout and then good versions of DWD, Reba, Slave, and Simple. This is a very good show, top to bottom! I would rate it as a 3.9 out of a 5.
, attached to 2005-11-12

Review by tunafish

tunafish Limb by Limb was played after a fan request, and was a Trey acoustic debut. During the "jam" portion of the song, the audience unexpectedly chimed in with vocals, off which Trey formed his playing around. I can't really describe it, but there was a real musical connection between Trey and the crowd. After the song, Trey remarked "That was the coolest thing I've ever experienced!". Ditto. And I'll take his word for it.
, attached to 1997-11-14

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Second show of Fall '97 produces some absolute heaters, but is overall overlooked because pretty much each of the highlights are arguably topped by more noteworthy versions over the next few weeks (this Twist might take the cake, but look to 11/26 for Gumbo and 2001, 11/22 for Antelope, 11/19 for Wolfman's Brother, and 12/7 for Slave). Nonetheless, in a vacuum this show is absolutely spectacular front to back. Set I Gumbo brings that great, extended, laidback '97 funk. Maze features an extended Page solo in which he really works the organ for all it's worth. After a great Trey peak, he decides to turn just before the finish line and ripcord into FEFY, which is glorious as ever. 2001 has some excellently tasty Mike involved, and the transition into Funky Bitch is a great catapult. The Guyute whistling influence in Antelope makes for a very fun twist, but the jam itself is also worth noting for its great drum and bass work. Set II greatly illustrates Phish's excellent ability to seamlessly morph. Wolfman's, Twist, and Slave each evolve so gradually and subtly, that you're not quite sure how you got from point A to point B. In fact, you don't even remember leaving Point A to begin with. Wolfman's remains largely mixolydian funky, but in the final minutes takes on a darker aura almost reminiscent of a deep jam Stash. The transition to Piper is silky smooth. Twist is probably highlight of the show for me. The band reaches a floating, mystical soundscape fully of great bass, synths, and spacey ambient guitar. The walk to get there is gradual, so its worth stopping every minute or so to take stock of what's going on. The Slave closer is a gradual crescendo, demonstrative of the band's great propensity for patience before the peak.
, attached to 1992-11-28

Review by MrFoot

MrFoot Missed the first night as was at my annual Arlo Guthrie show at Carnegie but so grateful to make the final show at the Cap. I had a great night at this all-around solid show with some noteworthy highlights that make it more than worthy of a re-listen 30 years later. Great versions of MSO, Foam, Stash and Esther with secret language. Fast Enough For You >All Things Reconsidered>Mike's Groove finishes the first set off in style. "Sorry, that was so long." Fishman's simple apology for the lengthy vacuum solo in Love You - and it was pretty long - where are the stats for length of vacuum solo? Go back inside Fish's head and enjoy excellent versions of MSO, MWSIY>Avenu Malkenu, Harpua, Contact and others!
, attached to 1997-11-13

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ One of the hottest tour openers for one of the hottest tours--if not the absolute peak of the band's career. CDT opens things up real hot right out of the gate. The crowd dies down quickly, unsure what they're listening to as the band heads straight into the debut of BEK. It's really fun listening to the increasingly excited crowd reactions to this tune as the tour goes on and people become more familiar with the tune. This version is pretty strong, if typical. Give it a week and it'll be the stuff of legends. The Set I YEM features some extremely catchy riffing from Trey and impeccable funk grooving. Though there's technically no B&D section as we know it, the final segment features some damn sweet chorused-up Mike while Page/Trey take a more ambient backseat. Set 2 opens with a rich, dark, and textured Stash that explores the deepest corners of the tune and the comes seamlessly back up for air to close out. Really strong PYITE and Caspian follow, but the highlight of the show, in my opinion, is the Mike's Groove. Notwithstanding some navigational issues in Hydrogen, the two tunes on either side among the best versions of each. First jam in Mike's rocks per usual, but the subdued, groovy, rolling second jam is some of the most peaceful and uplifting Phish I've ever heard. I could listen to this on loop for hours. In contrast, the Weekapaug burns white hot...I mean jesus christ the sheer speed at which they play this tune is ridiculous. Fishman drives this one up a wall, but the rest of the fellas absolutely keep up. Crazy to deliver something like this on the first night of the tour...but then again, it's Fall '97.
, attached to 1987-02-21

Review by dr_strangelove

dr_strangelove 1) [u]Fluffhead[/u]: Fluff is always a great song to hear at any show, but this version just has that vibe. Apparent the band is locked-in and ready to slay. 2) [b][u]Fire[/u]:[/b] Damn, they've really mastered fire since the last recorded version from 1984-12-01. I love that you can hear people in the crowd screaming in response to the energy! 3) [u]Back Porch Boogie Blues[/u]: The back end of this tune has has some greasy fat to chew on. Really messy, energetic fun. 4) [u]Lushington[/u]: Great outro jam, so much raw energy
, attached to 1996-11-30

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Runaway Jim: Can’t go wrong with this one opening the show. > Punch You in the Eye: Get Up Offa That Thing tease by James Brown at 0:40 All Things Reconsidered: Second to last one ever played (2.23.97). Bouncing Around the Room: Standard. Stash: Immense tension built in the 9’s and a nice peak out of that. Decent Stash, no peak at the end though. Fluffhead: Rip roaring end shred. The Old Home Place, Uncle Pen: John McEuen on banjo – This was fantastic! Prince Caspian: Nicely ripped. > Chalk Dust Torture: Has pornofunk elements to it, very cool and unique for a Fall 96 CDT up until this point. SET 2: La Grange: Absolutely SMOKES. Killer opener! It's Ice: More pornofunk in the beginning, very cool. Super crazy breakdown, tons of effects. Unfortunately my Relisten audio at this point really took a major nosedive. Sounds a lot like What’s the Use? At 6:26 and 6:56 and beyond. Killer It’s Ice!!! Glide, Brother[3], Contact > Also Sprach Zarathustra: Get Up Offa That Thing by James Brown at 2:35, Super Bad by James Brown at 2:45 > Timber (Jerry the Mule) - Peter Apfelbaum on tenor saxophone: This was awesome! > Taste: Peter Apfelbaum on tenor saxophone, slowed down intro: The jam in between Timber and Taste with Apfelbaum is exceptional, it is short but oh so sweet, a must hear for any fan. As far as the actual Taste – most of this is not my bag – sounds like that episode of Seinfeld where Elaine is dating that horn player – you know what I’m talking about – I know I am in the minority here – but I am not a fan. Funky Bitch: Peter Apfelbaum on tenor saxophone – This works, tons of fun. Amazing Grace: Standard. Amazing Grace Jam: With both special guests, and this jam is special. Last of three Amazing Grace jams ever played. Like I said in my 10.20.95 review, this gives me goosebumps. It’s just cathartic. Would recommend! ENCORE: Possum: Peter Apfelbaum on tenor saxophone and John McEuen on lap slide guitar. Good fun here. Summary: Really good bordering on great show, all things considered, hah. Fluffhead, CDT, La Grange, It’s Ice, 2001, and Timber I would suggest as replay value. Nothing super huge or all time here, just lot’s of unique, cool stuff that is off the beaten path due in large part to the special guests. I would rate this a bit lower than what you currently see – I am good at 4.1 out of 5.
, attached to 1994-10-31

Review by Francis_Wonderbuck

Francis_Wonderbuck I was at this show but never actually got in the arena and never heard a moment of live music. I took a Peter Pan bus from New Paltz with my girlfriend with no tickets, no plan to get back, and a vague idea that my friends heading back from the west coast might hit this show. Finally got into Glen Falls and the scene around the small arena was extraordinarily high. It quickly became apparent that a lot of people who had made the trek were going to get shut out. I found my friends and gave my one buddy a dollar to go work his trading magic. He turned that one dollar into two beers, a joint, and couple unidentifiable pills. The late start time really let the energy build and at some point those whose miracle never appeared decided to take fate into their own hands. Rumors were spreading about ways to get in and people were starting to rush the doors. We, of course, surrendered to the flow, and also started charging ahead: Me, My buddy, and our respective girlfriends. It was a sea of people as we approached the doors, pushing , scrambling, yelling , generally a crowd unhinged on Halloween. My buddy and I made it through( we had passed security) only 20 more feet. Head up the stairs to the right and melt into the crowd…. BUT halfway through that 20 feet as my legs are pumping and my arms whirling my buddy and i both stop look back and see out girlfriends being trampled…UGGGGGGGGG…: well all these years later I still can be proud of being an honorable and chivalrous person who turned back and rescued the distressed and was pushed back with feeling that the door had slammed shut AND every Halloween I get that phone call where my buddy describes beat for beat how I missed one of the best phish shows ever and all the fun he had as I waited outside in the cold dark night. ps. Thanks Mike Macaroni for answering my 3 am screams and getting me home
, attached to 2022-05-27

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Listening to Gordo's 2022 picks right now and find it pretty surprising that the Stash from this show is not listed on the jam charts. Even though fairly short, this version definitely breaks the traditional mold and packs a ton of energy. The transition back to Stash proper is perfectly executed as well.
, attached to 1989-11-10

Review by thelot

thelot Crispy SBD available for this show! There are some cuts during the show that are pretty annoying though. I must say the quality this tour has been pretty consistent. Split Opens things up. Suzy has some annoying little cuts. Nice transition from Sky into Bag. Another strong version of Bag tonight. YEM cuts out after a minute in. :( The rest isn’t on Relisten but it looks like the whole thing is available on the main source. Solid La Grange to close set 1. Hood is always a welcome set opener. Beautiful version. You could practically hear a pin drop at the start of the jam. About 17 seconds into Hydrogen Trey says “I parked my bike at ?? school”? Fantastic version of Weekapaug that cuts during a sizzling jam. I’m listening through Relisten so it looks like the other half is there on the original source. This is followed up by McGrupp that transitions into the now predictable Who Do? We Do! But just when think they’re about to transition to the next number they throw a curveball and continue into Clod! This transitions into Sloth. Brain always gets some good laughs. A pretty straightforward Possum wraps up set 2. The source sounds brighter when it cuts back in for the encore. Harpua has an Elvis chant from the crowd during the goldfish portion of the song which prompts Mike to deliver his best Elvis (dad) impression. lol A Train has a fun solo from Mike tonight. Great version of Antelope to close things out! Nothing out of the ordinary tonight but some great Fall ‘89 goodness.
, attached to 1995-12-01

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround 7 hour and 13-minute overnight drive – BRUTAL!!! SET 1: Buried Alive: Exceptional opener and the crowd is really, really into it! > Down with Disease: The quintessential Type I DWD! This is the textbook of how you rip this song a new one. 6:10 I imagine is a soundtrack in many of our memories. Just blistered!!! > Theme From the Bottom: Smoked, this one just has IT, an extra gear. Poor Heart: Standard. Wolfman's Brother: Trey flubs @ 2:21 Trey “Liked that last one so much I’m going to sing it again. > Chalk Dust Torture: White hot. Colonel Forbin's Ascent > Fly Famous Mockingbird: Mmmmmmmmm chocolate! Stash: This one gets evil at 7:38, it goes down the rabbit hole fast and deep. This one takes you down into hell, frankly; you will find yourself wondering if you will be able to crawly out. After almost five minutes of thrashing around in hell, the band gives you a glimmer of hope that there might be a way out. 12 and a half and they are going for a climax. The peak isn’t the highest or the best that this tune has seen – doesn’t matter – what matters is that 4 or 5 minutes of utter darkness – that is what makes this Stash truly great. Cavern: Standard. SET 2: Halley's Comet: The crowd is super rowdy for the chess move. The beginning of this one is pretty iffy. Trey has a bit of pornofunk working at 3:59 > Mike's Song: Good first jam. The theme that they get working around 7:20 is interesting. Page starts getting kind of bluesy on the baby grand around 8:05. Things really are coming to a head in the early 14’s. Big peak at 14:06. Early 15’s Trey has dropped out and jumped on his drum kit, Page leading the way on the baby grand. He is seriously killing it in here. Back to the organ at 16.5 and this funk is truly special. Fish and Trey sound great in here on the drums, this all works very well. Page certainly earned his check in this segment alone, check out 17:53 through 18:40. Back to the baby grand in the late 18’s and a big wall of sound has developed. 19:45 you can hear Trey’s intent for Weekapaug, 30 seconds later LivePhish lists this as Weekapaug. Not sure about that as it seems Weekapaug doesn’t really start for another minute. Killer segue! -> Weekapaug Groove: Intro vocals are super rough/wrong key or something. Love the whole band jamming going on early in this. Mike especially sounds great in here. Trey develops a theme starting right at 4:11 that must hear Phish. Inspiring to say the least! At 4:50 he is moving off of that into speedy, traditional Weekapaug type stuff but that 40 second segment is amazing. Things are definitely getting weird coming out of an audience clap along in the early 7’s. Lots and lots of tension being built here, higher, and higher we go. Screaming peak at 8:11 but it’s way, way off key, ouch Oh well, you can’t win ‘em all I suppose! The Mango Song: Such a fun tune, love Page on the baby grand in the late going of this one. > Wilson: Standard. > Suspicious Minds > Hold Your Head Up: Standard. David Bowie -> Catapult[3] -> David Bowie: Mmmmmmmmm chocolate!!! I love the space they get into in the late 7’s through the early 9’s, specifically 8:20 through 8:40. Big, big peak at 12:20. ENCORE: Suzy Greenberg: Totally rocking version, couldn’t ask for a better cap to this amazing show! Summary: An all-time great show. For replay value IMHO, go for DWD, CDT, Stash, Mike’s (all-timer), and Weekapaug. Just an incredible show top to bottom. Top five of 95 and top 50 all time.
, attached to 1995-11-30

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround Attended! SET 1: Sample in a Jar > The Curtain > Ha Ha Ha > This section sounds great, nice energy to get the show rolling. Julius: Face melter, big time! NICU: Standard. > Bathtub Gin: Standard. Rift: Man, this one sounds GOOD! So fast and clean. > Fast Enough for You: Trey completely botches the opening lyrics and Page bails him out. Other than that, this version is perfection. Check out Trey’s solo – it might give you goosebumps like I just got. > The Lizards: Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! Fire: Seems like Page and Trey were on different wavelengths at the end of this one. Trey was clearly done raging and not sure if Page just didn’t hear that? But he just kept banging away on the baby grand while Trey is trying to wind it down but not embarrass him. Weird. I don’t remember this at the show at all by the way. SET 2: Cars Trucks Buses: Standard. > Tweezer: The theme they create that starts at 5:34, I love it. I’ve listened to this one so many times, it’s instantly recognizable, like an old friend. The peak that they hit at 9:20, aww yeah! It’s a quick hitter but leads to much more. After this they are diving into a dissonant space. By 10:44 they are coming out of that dissonance as Page leads the way banging away on the baby grand. This goes on through 11:30. Here things are getting very herky jerky and at 11:52 here come some amazing Trey effects. Trey starts WAILING at 12:40. By 13:30 Page has wrested control back his way making bold moves on the baby grand. At 13:56 the baton is passed back to Trey. A new theme is realized here at 14:06 and by 14:21 the speed is ramping up. At 15:02 Page opts for the organ (sorry not sure specifically what he is playing here) and within 90 seconds or so this finds the band for a brief time in a heavy metal sounding jam but then just as quickly is out of that and just rocking out. At 17:50 intent is made to wrap up and the original Tweezer chords are being played prominently. 18:50 it becomes known that this is likely headed for Makisupa but they continue to play around with it. The funk is VERY deep at this point. 19:30 it’s a no brainer and you can hear Trey say YEAH -> Makisupa Policeman: Wow!! My 22-year-old mind was completely blown trying to process what just happened. Woke up this morning, TEA. Followed by nerdy laughter (Page?). Trey nods for Antelope at 5:43. They develop this for nearly a whole minute! > Run Like an Antelope: Check out the sync that Page and Trey get locked into at 6:31, effortless wouldn’t accurately describe how good this is and how they could do this on the fly in the middle of one of the best Antelopes of the tour. First peak at 6:45 and shortly after that sounds just a bit like Buried Alive. 7:41 is just red hot, scorching Trey. Check out Trey right before the Rye Rye Rocco – 8:21 way high up on the neck – listen to that run he plays – it’s the little things that make the legendary versions legendary – stuff like this! > Scent of a Mule: Not my cup of tea. It’s charted but it feels like 85% of 95-96 version are charted I am sure that is an exaggeration but that is what seems like reality to me? Free: Sounds like every other one from 95. No offense. Recall it being a lot of fun in person. Strange Design: Standard. Amazing Grace: Standard. ENCORE: Harry Hood – This one goes along pretty ordinarily to my ear. You get your first false, brief peak at 12:53. Trey is having an absolute celebration as he is firing off all kinds of gorgeous licks in the 13:20’s and :30’s. The real deal comes in at 14:09. I don’t want to be that guy…but – based on many reviews I feel like most have a higher opinion of this Hood than I do and I have attendance bias. It was amazing but on tape there are plenty better just from this tour. Summary: Solid first set. The goods are delivered in the second set with an all-time Tweezer and great Makisupa and an all-time Antelope and a very good Hood. Just a great, great Thursday night in Dayton. Phish LOVES my home state of Ohio. This is known. I would rate this as a 4.4 out of 5 all day long. The drive back to BGSU was an uneventful two hours. A great night for sure and even made it to all my classes the next day!
, attached to 1991-11-21

Review by TheZink1

TheZink1 Today I received a nice little email from phish.net reminding me of how very old I am. It reminded me that today, 11/21/22, is the 31st.....THIRTHY-FIRST!!! ...anniversary of my first phish show. The email reminded me of this show that took place 31 years ago today, and also asked me to review it. This will be my first attempt at reviewing a show 31 years in the past. And obviously, I will forget most of the details. But I'll write down what I do remember from this life-changing experience. I was a brand-new freshman in college at Clark U. in Worcester, MA. But I guess where this review really starts is at a small boarding school in rural Pennsylvania. At that time, I was a Deadhead. Well, a wanna-be, prep-school hippie, Deadhead, that is. Not from San Francisco, not alive in the late 60s, and had only been to a small handful of Dead shows from 1988-1991. I started early seeing my first Dead show at MSG on 9/24/88 at the tender age of 15. I collected tapes, I partied with my other young prep-school hippie friends, and by our Sophmore year at prep school, we heard our first live recordings of this small band called Phish that was from Vermont. We enjoyed the wacky lyrics about bagging it, tagging it, and selling it to the butcher in the store, but didn't think too much more of it at that time. But by the time we were seniors in High School, we had listened to Junta & Lawnboy extensively. The guitar wizardry was like nothing I had ever heard, and I certainly could not imagine Jerry playing anything like it. Not to mention the off-beat weirdness - a song named "David Bowie," a song about tires on your car contacting the road, a soaring song with incredible written sections and guitar work called "Divided Sky," and a song about running like an antelope....out of control. All that said, Phish wasn't really on my radar as I finished high school other than the thought "Next year, when I'm in college in Massachusetts, I'm going to definitely check out this Phish band live." In fact, my girlfriend at the time, who seemed to understand the full and awesome power of live Phish before me (I was still under the spell of the Grateful Dead), asked if I wanted to join her to go see Phish at Arrowhead Ranch that summer. I declined. I already had plans to see the Dead with my buddies that summer, and as I needed to work to make money to spend my freshman year of college, I had very limited time off available. I chose the Dead at RFK with my buddies over Phish at Arrowhead Ranch with my girlfriend. Now the Dead show was tasty....Black-Throated Wind, Help>Slip>Franklins>Dark Star and a Stella Blue taboot, just to name a few....but if wishes and buts were candy and nuts, I would have been chowing down all that snack food while camping at Arrowhead Ranch. Oh well...I didn't know! Ok, back to freshman year of college. As I listened to more high-quality recordings of Phish, I was getting more and more excited to see them live. I had a buddy who attended Tufts U. in Somerville, MA and he called to let me know he got us tickets for the Phish show that was quickly approaching. I had seen 6 nights of the Dead at Boston Garden in September, and those shows were pretty solid, if a little weird (still getting used to no Brent). Not to mention, they were crowded and a bit of a hassle. So my most recent concert memories were of the Grateful Dead a few months before as I approached the Somerville Theater. I met my buddy and his friend in Somerville. We may have eaten at a restaurant beforehand, or not. I don't remember. But I do remember getting in the line which formed outside the door for this GA show. And I definitely remember taking our spots up front in the 2nd row right in the middle. I want to say this was the only full Phish show I ever saw where there was an opening band, but I may be mis-remembering. Maybe it was just a dude with a guitar that opened. Or maybe no opener at all. Sorry, it's all pretty foggy, but I'm going to keep bravely progressing forward. The lights go down, the band walks up, and the first thing I notice is just how darn close I am to the stage and the band. The Somerville Theater is a tiny little place that holds 800 people or so. Being in the second row, having mostly only seen big concerts at outdoor venues or hockey arenas, was amazing. There was nothing dividing the band from the fans. It felt like they were right on top of us. I'd been front row for the Dead, and that was more like being in the 10th row at Somerville with the divider, security, etc. So first and foremost, this just looked and felt so much more intimate than any live show I was used to seeing. Lights go out and they start Chalkdust Torture. I had never heard the tune before, but the solo and intensity was blowing me away. Will this shreddy peaking guitar solo never end???!!?? But end it did and they immediately started Bouncin', which I knew. Everyone around me was bouncing up and down, smiles plastered, and I was loving how loud, engulfing, and intense this experience was in this little room. After Poor Heart, Geulah Papyrus was played, which I had never heard before, and really stood out to me as a super cool song. The thumping bass, the lyrics about expanding exponentially like some recursive virus, and the vamping while Mike and Trey did this little shuffle dance that ended with a kick right as they slammed a note. This was so cool!!! Jerry and Bobby never do any little choreographed shuffle dances during tunes! The rest of the set were mostly songs I knew and just kept hitting wave after wave as my smile grew larger and larger. Foam! Split Open and Melt! Esther!!! I LOVE ESTHER, such a weird, dark little song. Then they closed the set with Mike's>Hydrogen>Groove. I remember thinking I am Hydrogen was such a bizarre, lilting, off-beat, but beautiful little section. And the Weekapaug closer was super intense....kept going and going....and then they reprised it - twice!! Trey going "Thanks so much, we'll be right back." Then "No really, we really appreciate you being here, thank you so much!" And I was thinking, is this for real??? These guys are SO good but also THIS MUCH WACKY FUN????? I have way less memories of the second set. So perhaps, things were kicking in by then. But it was a solid, well-played show throughout. Wilson, Hood....I remember thinking It's Ice was a cool song sung by Page that got pretty weird. And the man Who Stepped>Avenu>Man Who Stepped was perplexing in a good way. Jams, odd off-beat songs, weird lyrics, crazy antics and so much energy on the stage. I do remember them doing secret language, but I wasn't in on the secret yet. So the random "D'oh!!" coming from the band....and crowd??? Was really strange and trippy to me. And I specifically remember the band did an "Asshole in the front row" signal. There was a large man in the front row, who would turn away from the band and look back at the crowd, was kind of loud, and wasn't playing close attention to the band. He was sort of making a scene about himself. I remember, the guy was hamming it up and looking away from the stage, when the band played the 'me and my arrow' riff, then all stopped and pointed at this asshole in the front row. I didn't know the secret language yet, but I think everyone around this dude picked up on what the band was laying down. Which was hilarious to me. I was a young, full of energy, smart-ass, music-loving college kid who was ready for something new. Phish fit like a glove. From that day on, Dead shows played second-fiddle to the most important live band in the world...Phish. I spent the rest of my college years and beyond seeing as many Phish shows as possible. My only regrets are the Phish shows I didn't go to. Thanks for the reminder of my first show, Phish.net!
, attached to 1996-11-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Frankenstein: Killer opener! NICU, Cars Trucks Buses: Standard. Character Zero: This one has some extra juice, it’s smoked! Acapella ending. > Divided Sky: Below average by a good bit. Bathtub Gin: Nicely jammed! Life on Mars? – Poor placement. Maze: Another fall 96 heater The climax wasn’t quite as strong as some others this fall but still a strong version! Suzy Greenberg: Standard. SET 2: Wilson: Raucous! > Simple: Starts of sort of raw and bluesy, transitions into 97 style funk and then meanders into space. Another great Fall 96 version of Simple. -> Sparks: Killer segue out of Simple and a huge bustout. Sparks was played for the first time since October 29, 1994 (173 shows). This one rocks hard! > Sparkle: Standard. > Taste: Enormous peak at the 6-minute mark. Incredible trills at 6:56. Destroyed. Awesome version!!! > Swept Away: Standard. > Steep: Standard. > You Enjoy Myself: Trey breaks a string on the first attempt at The Note, so things sound a little different in there at this time. The second note is a mess too but the rest I give him a ton of credit for making it sound as decent as it does. Messed Page up a bit too timing wise before tramps. I assume he switches to a different guitar and when he does, look out below! This jam is super funky! Trey definitely has a theme going here that works very well! At 12:52 the jam shifts back to what I would think of as typical YEM jamming for this era and the crowd starts a clap along at 13:20, lots of Chicago ex-pats in SF? Little Trey breakdown in the late 13’s, Fish, Mike, and Page take it way down to accommodate. In the early 15’s we are getting hints of Oye Como Va. 16:10 it’s clear to me they are vamping on OCV. The build in here is powerful. What results is a very intense jam with each member completely rocking out. Insanity! This YEM is awesome and the jam segment is super long!!! Huge fan. Been awhile since I have heard it, but this was confirmation once again. Waste: Standard. Harry Hood: They take their time and patiently build this one. Trey repeats the same idea about 3 or 4 times in the late 11’s and early 12’s that works especially well. They are building furiously in here. Unfortunately, the peak seems a bit rushed and more of an afterthought. ENCORE: Sample in a Jar: Trey is sloppy in the intro. Good enough encore though. Summary: I rate this as a 3.7 out of 5. The first set there is just not much there at all outside of the Maze. The second set is outstanding as Simple, Taste, and YEM are all great with YEM being an all-timer.
, attached to 1994-12-01

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ In his recent interview with the Undermine podcast, Trey discusses the drive he had in the early 90s to make music like nobody had ever heard before. By '93, it was obvious that the band was there on the composition front; Rift alone is a testament to that. If you were to take a Phish fan from '92 and plop them in Salem, Oregon on 12/1/94 (or pretty much any other night from this tour), they would, once again, be hearing something quite unlike anything previously heard. The ingenuity however would be rooted in the band's maximum fearlessness in improvisation. This Tweezer suite, among many greats of the era now that the song has indisputably solidified itself as [u]the [/u] jam vehicle, showcases an unparalleled level of active listening, musical ability, and, above all, trust--trust in oneself and one another. These guys just followed each other into the dark in these jams, ultimately delivering the game-changing performances we all associate with...well, nothing short of true fucking greatness. As for the little things, you gotta love the minor key Makisupa and the cheeky Divided Sky tease in Hood.
, attached to 1995-11-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: AC/DC Bag: Raging out of the gate. > Ya Mar: Gets out there a bit. Reba: Starts off very, very fast. The Chill is so, so, so good. Page is super groovy for like what feels about 30 seconds without Trey even playing a note. When he does, he fires off a couple of quick notes and that sustains one. Very cool in here to start this jam, super patient. Check out Trey at 12:48, hits a gorgeous note and then sustains it for a few seconds! 13:28 a big release right here, gave me major goosebumps. This Reba is an all-timer, incredible version! If I Could: When the jam starts check out Page and Trey trading links. It’s like they are thinking with the same brain. Beautiful Phish. > It's Ice: Good jam, Page is great. > Theme From the Bottom: Standard. Acoustic Army: Check out the super weird, very loud unhinged cackle from someone in the crowd at 0:34. Fee: Trey mumbles the first couple words, then hits the eject button and skips this altogether: Milly turned and began to scream at Floyd said "You think you're pretty mean" - And though she was as thin as a small string bean - She slammed him in the face with a nectarine. LOL then at the end Trey “That was the abridged version, the readers digest version, the original version was banned at bookstores all across the country, it was all that nipple slicing part that was bad for America’s youth, we are going to breed a generation of teenagers going around slicing people’s nipples with envelopes. Next time I sing it I will have him jump off the boat voluntarily so that there is no violence, the nice version.” > Split Open and Melt: Page is still laughing at Trey as this one starts up. Decent version. SET 2: Timber (Jerry the Mule) – Rager, awesome version. Intense. > Sparkle: Standard. > Simple: Absolutely beautiful. You need to hear this version. So pretty. > Possum: One of the all-time greats and the longest version ever. The intro is very long, the All Fall Down piece goes on forever and they generally just jam, and jam, and then jam some more. You Enjoy Myself: Not sure what happened here but Trey doesn’t take his customary solo. Instead, Page just crushes his own solo that is quite fantastic! Would love some insight here… Taste That Surrounds: Trey drops out on the lyrics in the intro and is bailed out by Page. Must have had something to do with Bela coming on stage? Bela crushes it. He sounds so good in this tune. > Heart and Soul: Very cool, brief yet awesome. > Poor Heart: Ripped – made for Bela. I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome, My Long Journey Home: I think before MLJH, Trey dedicates it to Sue and Nicole. Slave to the Traffic Light: Magic, pure magic. When Trey and Bela trade licks in the beginning of the jam – goosebumps and tears. It’s incredible. Embarrassed to guess how many times I have heard this, but every time is like the first time. ENCORE: A Day in the Life: Standard. Summary: What a difference one show can make! As dull and boring as Knoxville was, Nashville was the polar opposite. Reba, Timer, Simple, Possum and Slave are all versions that I would revisit. What a show! I would rate this as a 4.3 out of 5.
, attached to 1989-11-09

Review by thelot

thelot Decent SBD recording available for this one. There’s a fair amount of the room mixed in which has been a nice treat this tour. Set 1 has a nice Curtain>MSO pairing. Before launching into Gin, Trey thanks the audience for joining them instead of the keg party going on next door. YEM picks right up where Gin drops off. Trey briefly teases Frankenstein following boy, man, god, shit. Unfortunately most of Page’s section is cut as well as everything up to the very end of the B&D section. :( A Train makes it’s way back to the stage after a brief hiatus with a playful version complete with a Frankenstein tease from Trey. Set 2 kicks of with an Oh Kee Pah>Bag pairing. Strong Bag tonight. Nice McGrupp>Who Do? We Do!>PYITE. Still no storm dance section. The beginning of Mike’s is cut. Solid Mike’s Groove! Mike and Fish mock Trey “Thank you, we’ll see you next time.” Both repeating the line. lol Crowd creates thunder prior to the encore! :) The band follows up this rowdinesses with Highway to Hell to close things out. Another great second set tonight!
, attached to 1995-11-28

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Stash: Love that they open the show with a big jam tune. Only 19 times has Stash opened a show in the total 437 that it has been played, so just 4% of the time! Dinner and a Movie > Bouncing Around the Room > Foam, I Didn't Know, Divided Sky, Guyute, Hello My Baby, Sample in a Jar? The rest of the set is solid yet unspectacular, nothing really stood out to me or grabbed me. SET 2: Also Sprach Zarathustra: Rock solid out of the gate, obviously cannot go wrong with this one. > Maze: Nice, spacy intro here. Sinister. This is a rager folks. Suzy Greenberg: Bad placement. Trey blows some lyrics. Cool teases though. > Uncle Pen: Placement issues getting worse as the set wears on. Free: Wow, this set is essentially sacked at this point. Hold Your Head Up > Wind Beneath My Wings > Hold Your Head Up: LOL. I want some clarity on Fish comments before this started up. Something like – We have a man I want to make a special dedication to. It’s time after twelve years in this band that I need to come clean. I am not a creation of my own will. I am a creation of this mans will. I am everything that I am and everything that I have done is because of his operation of his streams of my puppet being. At the end Trey, says Henrietta, Henrietta ladies and gentlemen, and his father Bruce Hampton. Page, that was a touching moment. Trey, kind of hard for me to get going again because I am still wiping the tears from my eyes.” So, someone please hit me up and tell me what was the connection with Col. Bruce on this evening? Run Like an Antelope: Average. > Contact > Big Black Furry Creature from Mars, Funky Bitch: Too little too late. ENCORE: The Squirming Coil Summary: Odd show. They had two days off between Hampton and this night. You would think they would be ready to roll and blow the roof off. Quite the opposite. There is not one tune in this show that has replay value IMHO. Plenty of solid playing but nothing to revisit. The Tuesday night blah’s?
, attached to 1996-11-27

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Julius: Heater to get things moving out of the gate. > My Friend, My Friend: Quite intense! Ya Mar: Standard. Chalk Dust Torture, The Sloth: These two have the fire in their belly. Uncle Pen, Free: Standard. > Theme From the Bottom: Cool version that gets beyond what to expect from Theme. Not way beyond, but beyond what to expect. Good jam for sure. Bold As Love: Jimi, happy birthday! Will take this tune anywhere anytime. Had not closed a first set since 9.24.88. The last significant jammed DWD was 8.16.96. This version is very solidly jammed with great length. The segue into Jesus is great! SET 2: Down with Disease: The last significant jammed DWD was 8.16.96. This version is very solidly jammed with great length. The segue into Jesus is great! -> Jesus Just Left Chicago: Good version. > Scent of a Mule: Is it just me or is every 96 version a jam charts version, lol?! Tweezer -> Sweet Emotion Jam: This Tweezer while short is very funky and a glimpse into what is to come the following year. -> Down with Disease: Amazing segue that is being worked on 22 seconds before actually going full blown DWD. The Star Spangled Banner, Fire. ENCORE: Waste > Tweezer Reprise: All standard. Another nod to Jimi playing Fire. Summary: Theme, DWD, and Tweezer all have replay value. First set is super solid with Theme giving us something new and unique. The whole second set is just outstanding, a true Phish throwdown. 4.43 is currently the rating but I would feel a bit more conservative and go with a 4.3/5.
, attached to 1995-11-25

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Poor Heart: Normal version. > A Day in the Life: Standard. > David Bowie: Fairly subdued in the middle but this one has a pretty explosive peak. Absolutely love the placement, let ‘em know you mean business! Billy Breathes > Taste That Surrounds, Bouncing Around the Room > Rift: Standard. Wolfman's Brother: Trey playing some super funky rhythm during the vocals, sounds like it could be right out of Fall 97. This is a very unique version for the era and should be charted, sadly it is not. I highly recommend giving this version a spin. > Runaway Jim: This one is a little raw and maybe rough around the edges, but the energy and the intent is there. Peaky. SET 2: Timber (Jerry the Mule) – Downright nasty and sinister. MLB jam, thought I heard it in the late 3:30’s but .net says 2:50’ish to 3:20’ish? This one is the longest version going back to 7.30.88. > Kung: Tune is weird as is, but this one is especially so. They basically sing their way through it. Mike's Song: MLB at 5:05? Things are getting pretty weird in the 8’s as Page grabs hold of the lead and is banging away. Fairly intense section. 9:30 Tweezer Reprise type stuff from Trey. Very nasty. Pretty awesome first jam. Crowd starts going crazy for the instrument switching at 11:25. -> Rotation Jam: Major risk taking but musically most of this is complete garbage. -> Mike's Song: Not much to mention on this second jam. My Long Journey Home[3], I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome[4], Strange Design: Standard. > Weekapaug Groove: Page rules this one! Trey rip chords this one I am afraid, he just attempts to completely wrest control away from Page at 6:37. Really strange, not a great look for Trey. This goes on for basically a full minute. Harry Hood: Pretty average version, Trey holds a note (similar to or the same note) that he held at 11.16.96. Not nearly as long but that transitions right into the end peak. Hello My Baby: Standard. Poor Heart: Slow version. ENCORE: Poor Heart Reprise: was even slower, but only a few lines of the song were played. Fire: Solid version. Summary/Replay Value: Bowie, Wolfman’s, Mike’s (first jam). This show has tons of heavy hitters but none of them completely deliver an all-time type of performance. I would rate this an even 4 out of 5.
, attached to 1996-11-24

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Poor Heart: Standard. > AC/DC Bag: This one definitely has something extra, properly ripped – very impressive – Trey keeps taking it higher and higher. Whew buddy! > All Things Reconsidered, Bouncing Around the Room: Standard. > Reba: Played extremely fast out of the gate. This is a really good version. Not quite great because it doesn’t have that signature moment or peak. But great all band jamming and they just keep going and going when they could have wrapped it a minute or two earlier. Character Zero, Strange Design: Standard. > Taste: Awesome Taste! I Didn't Know: Because tease by The Beatles at 1:58. Sample in a Jar: Standard. Run Like an Antelope: This jam is white hot, extremely intense version. Definitely a must hear! SET 2: Also Sprach Zarathustra: Really, really long intro jam here – first notes are not even struck until 8:30. Awesome jamming. All-timer 2001. > Sparkle: Why? > David Bowie: A very cool theme is constructed right around the ten-minute mark. They don’t stay with that much more than 45 seconds or so, but it does catapult them into an intense, high velocity jam. They crush this one folks, highly recommended! Day in the Life: Standard. > You Enjoy Myself: The Note is perfect. Loud and strong. Page leads a long funk jam while Trey is on his drum kit. Some cool effects in here but the Chairman is definitely throwing down in here. 12:20 Trey back on the doc and his intent is immediately clear: seek and destroy. This eventually leads into an enormous peak along with a sustained note from Trey that melts like butter into B&D. Loving Cup > Suzy Greenberg: Pretty cool segment, Cup obviously rocks and the transition to SG is cool. Suzy jam has a little extra heat on this night, Page really rocks it out. ENCORE: Ginseng Sullivan: 7 times played as an encore, and this was the second to last time. They also played this at the last show in Spokane and like at that show, Trey admits Norman Blake was the author of Ginseng, not Tim O’ Brien. > Cavern: Standard. Summary: Definitely a solid show. This and Vancouver by now have helped ease the memory of Spokane. Reba, Antelope, 2001, Bowie, and YEM all have replay value. Look at that list! This show is sneaky good. Let your guard down for a second, throw this one and let me know. Am I wrong? I like this one a little more than .net which is at 4/5. I am good at 4.1 out of 5.
, attached to 2022-11-17

Review by SawItAgaaain

SawItAgaaain This show was the real deal. A young band on the up, developing themselves in real time before our eyes. Almost a full hour of Billy MF Strings in the flesh. And Trey leading the most talented circus this side of MSG on NYE. First, to address the 800 pound bird in the room: Goose is a good band and Trey picked them for a reason. I'm dying to hear about all the bands you may like better in the thread speculating on the next TAB tour. Get off the grump train and live in the now, cause they're touring with one of your favorite acts and no grousing is going to change that. I admit I deployed the old man "what's this new thing" kneejerk when I did a bit of diving into the Goose catalog and their live stuff to prep myself. It didn't pull me in right away and I was on the fence of even making the 30 minute drive from DC to see the show. I'd have been a crusty fart that lost out on the party had I kept that attitude. If you insist on wearing This Is Not My Preferred Band earplugs in you're only hurting yourself. I'm glad I made the call to show up early for posters because I snagged a sweet, sweet event foil version + the tour Pollock + the Dave Kloc charity version. Even better was getting great seats Rage Side in section 116 with close proximity to the stage and sight and sound lines. Goose put on a show for my first experience. They brought energy and fire. Two major jam vehicles (Arrow and, I think, Arcadia) with some real sauce on the buildups were my highlights before Trey came on. The double lead guitar weaving and peaking was fun and the last song, Tumble, really moved and you could tell Trey didn't want it to end. As a critique of a new-to-me band, sure, they're a little peaky for the sake of it. To my ears, some of the verses could use more melodic intrigue. Maybe I'd have a hard time picking them out of a lineup of Lettuce, Eggy, moe., and so on. That's fine, genres sound like genres for a reason. But there were more moments of stoke than anything else and it was worth the price of admission. So there you go, fowl hunters. Some 70 stage hands later, TAB's gear was ready to go and your favorite band's other band kicked off with a sweet First Tube. Could have gone deeper for me, but it felt like a statement. Curlew's Call and Magilla featured solos bouncing around the stage, About to Run did its red light shredding to perfection.... solid TAB fare. AND THEN.... Sir Billy sauntered out. We kinda knew he would, given the Anthem shows the next two nights, but seeing is believing. Among the loudest I've heard a Phish-universe crowd. And man, when he showed up he showed out. Meet me at the Creek was the perfect ease in. Possum was made for a Billy collab and having Trey, Billy, and Rick on Moma was just wild. I've never seen Jiboo stretched out like this and it just worked. Trey actively passed the baton to Billy and Rick whenever he could to let them take the solos and the bouncing and weaving between the three of them was just priceless. The encore was even heavier with a stunningly reserved and gorgeous Love and Regret with just Trey and Billy on acoustic. Same with a pared down, wistful Water in the Sky. What a unique version. Rick came back for a bouncing Train. and then we were blessed with a 13-person version of Carini. As Trey said, the only thing better than one bass is two basses. And two keys. And three horns. And three guitars. And four drummers. For me, that blew the roof off and knocked the house down. Never miss a Thursday show, friends. And don't sleep on this tour.
, attached to 1995-11-24

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: The Oh Kee Pa Ceremony > AC/DC Bag: Smoking opener! OKPC not seen since Red Rocks. > The Curtain: Standard. > Sparkle: Standard. > Stash: Pretty average version. Tela, I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome: Standard. Maze: Look out below. Something about Maze and Pittsburgh seem to go very well together. This is another great Pittsburgh Maze. Suzy Greenberg: Fish gets everyone going full steam going into the break. SET 2: Chalk Dust Torture: Great energy to get everyone locked back in. Theme From the Bottom: Not a big fan of this in the 2 hole of set 2. > Reba: Above average version. Very solid. Catapult: Standard. Interesting placement. Scent of a Mule: Another charted version. Bathtub Gin: Definitely gets out there and is well jammed. Charted. Still a little choppy for me but this tune is slowly but surely seeing an evolution. Acoustic Army, Hold Your Head Up > Bike > Hold Your Head Up, Fee[3] > Julius: Standard. Disappointing to see the latter half of the set just kind of going through the motions. ENCORE: Life on Mars?, Rocky Top: Standard. Weak ending. Summary: As far as replay value is concerned I would suggest Reba and Gin. But there is not nearly enough meat around all of this to get this show to an above average let alone great show. I would rate this a 3.7 out of 5.
, attached to 1996-11-23

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Chalk Dust Torture, Guelah Papyrus, Cars Trucks Buses: Solid opening trio of songs. Divided Sky: Great version, thoroughly enjoyed this one tonight and over the years. Punch You in the Eye: Excellent, love this placement. Midnight on the Highway: Debut. Band had issues at the border. See Makisupa. Split Open and Melt: Interesting and a bit unique. Rift, Funky Bitch: Properly ripped. SET 2: The Curtain: Great opener for set II. A bit sloppy in parts though. > Mike's Song: Evil. Intense. -> Simple: Really good little jam, Page’s solo at the end briefly sounds like Right Now from Van Halen. -> Makisupa Policeman: Amusing story about meeting some funny people at the border, they got on the bus and stole my dank…Kind of a blah version of this tune though. This one has that funky theremin lead type jam - you know that woo woo thing they were doing back all over this tour? > Axilla: Sloppy. > Weekapaug Groove: Interesting version, I think it is quite strong, but it does get down into the weeds a bit. -> Catapult, Waste, Amazing Grace: Standard. Harry Hood: One of my favorites! This one gets angelic. Big, big peaks. Page and Trey shine! ENCORE: Good Times Bad Times – Ripped properly, great encore. Summary: Replay value for me Divided Sky, SOAMelt, Simple, Weekapaug, Hood. I feel like Hood is an all-timer, it’s that good. The other highlights I mentioned are worth your time. This was a MUCH better show than Spokane, they needed to rebound from that show and they did. Hoping some day I can find a good version of this show as ones I have ever listened to are below average. I have touted this show for years as a dark horse selection. It has a lot going for it! I would rate this show as a 4.1 out of 5.
, attached to 1996-11-22

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: It's Ice: Standard, not the tightest version. This of course was played to comment on the dangerous conditions outside. > Runaway Jim: Great jam! Wolfman's Brother: Standard. Taste: Standard. Ginseng Sullivan: Standard. > Sample in a Jar: Standard. Fast Enough for You: Standard (awesome). Train Song: Standard. Stash: Solid. Cavern: Standard. Trey admits Norman Blake was the author of Ginseng, not Tim O’ Brien. LOL. SET 2: Down with Disease: Strong jam. > Prince Caspian: Really good version here for the era, would relisten. > Maze: Below average for fall 96. Billy Breathes: > slop fest Swept Away > Steep: Standard > Character Zero: Standard. Theme From the Bottom: Standard, not a fan of the placement. Slave to the Traffic Light: Really enjoyed this version, above average and would relisten. Hello My Baby: Standard. ENCORE: Julius: Standard. – Trey before they start the song, “Enjoyed hanging out in your town for a couple days, thanks for the people at Gabby’s bar for putting up with us…If you want to get down, down on the ground: Spokaine (Cocaine)” Summary: Really weird show. You would think after having two nights off that this show would be a rip-roaring affair. It wasn’t. It was subdued, lethargic and sloppy in parts. Outside of Slave and Caspian, there just isn’t much going on here. This along with Lake Placid are my least favorite shows of the tour so far followed closely by Ames.
, attached to 1989-11-03

Review by thelot

thelot Nice crispy board available for Set 1. While I prefer a crispy audience like last night over a SBD, this sounds fantastic! Listening through headphones it sounds like this was dubbed over something else. It doesn’t take away from the quality but it’s definitely noticeable during quiet sections. Set 2 is clean from background noise but has a handful of generations in it’s lineage. Probably a Cass/3-4. The band gets right to it with a Forbin>Mockingbird, Gin power pack. Nice Split Open that slams into Bundle of Joy! This transitions smoothly into YEM. Nice versions of PYITE and Reba follow. Bowie to open set 2 went deep again. Still not as experimental as 10/26. The first Manteca tease shows up in this version. This version gets experiential on the second half of the jam and segues into No Dogs Allowed instead of coming to a conclusion. Nice Oh Kee Pah > Sloth pairing. Unfortunately the set cuts out after Foam.
, attached to 1995-11-22

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Cars Trucks Buses: Standard. Wilson: Standard. > Run Like an Antelope: Simple Gifts tease by Joseph Brackett Jr. at 1:13 – when I dug in on this tune, I was surprised to see that it had been teased 9 times and one show that I attended, 2.21.03. I listened to the original tune on YouTube, interesting. This Antelope is one that definitely wastes no time coming out of the composed section, right down to business. Fairly strong version, love the placement. Fluffhead: Wow, back-to-back anchor tunes. They must mean business tonight, right? This is a good version. Uncle Pen: Standard. Cavern: LOL @ this version. Trey totally skips this: Just then a porthole pirate, Scourged the evening with his cry, And sanctuary bugs deprived, The monkey of its thigh,A dust arose and clogged my nose, Before I could blink twice, Despite the stuff that bubbled up, I gave some last advice. Instead, he sings this passage TWICE: Exploding then through fields and fen… 1995 is tight, super tight. But folks that think the band did not flub stuff back then were not paying attention or were wearing rose colored glasses. > Taste That Surrounds: Standard Some confusion on lyrical responsibilities between Fish and Trey. Wonder if this caused any tension that would later reveal itself in Rift? The Lizards: Standard (awesome). Sample in a Jar: Sweet Adeline SET 2: Rift: “We’d like to credit that last one to our drummer, Jon Fishman, let’s hear it for him.” Aborted at about 45 seconds as Fish just stops playing. Anyone know why? Free: No Quarter tease by Led Zeppelin and a Bouncing Around the Room tease at 26:00. I love the quiet breakdown that happens around the 15-minute mark. Great patience throughout with band paying close attention to one another. Mike and Fish especially sound awesome. At 21:00 this is sounding like the Nirvana section of YEM. The major chord jam in the mid and late 20’s I think is fantastic, some of it sounds a bit like Ob La Dee? Fishman at 30 and a half is just outrageous – best drummer on the planet. Puts on a clinic. -> Llama: Standard (awesome). Bouncing Around the Room: Standard. You Enjoy Myself: Very average version. Strange Design: Standard. ENCORE: Poor Heart: Second ever slow version. Love it! Frankenstein: Standard. Summary: Replay value: Antelope, Free (all-timer). Honestly, I get why people have given this show so much shit over the years. Many just cannot digest the Free jam. I personally think it’s great, you have to compartmentalize the sections. But the rest of this show is super meh especially in comparison to everything since 11.9 perhaps with exception to the somewhat tame 11.16.95. I feel like the current rating at 3.78 is accurate and I would give this one a 3.7 out of 5.
, attached to 1995-11-21

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Fee: Good opener, fans are pumped for it. > Chalk Dust Torture: Big ovation at the beginning. Trey gets a little out of key for a few seconds towards the end. Prince Caspian: Standard. Divided Sky: Inspired version! My Long Journey Home: Standard. I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome: Standard. Guyute: Standard. Trey clarifies the name of the song. My Friend, My Friend: Interesting, evil outro jam -> Dog Faced Boy: Standard. > Runaway Jim: Surprisingly, this is fairly benign considering the placement. SET 2: Simple: Super funky in the early going, Trey gets that pornofunk working, very sick! This evolves into Trey on the kit and Page leading the way -> David Bowie: Rock Lobster by B52s tease at 0:35. Check out the insane echo effect during the UB40 stuff, way trippy. It’s quiet but with headphones on you can hear it. Nutty! The heavy metal jam that evolves a bit before TMTHR is nasty! -> Take Me to the River: Extremely cool. And short unfortunately. -> David Bowie: With 5 minutes left here, this one is deep, down in a chaotic rabbit hole. Very impressive. Page is just wailing away! Trey’s peak at 6:50 is hellfire, he has that doc SCREAMING! That is just one of several false peaks. They play the last minute or so at the speed of light. Crazy version! Glide: Cool breather song! > Ya Mar: Cool Fish solo. Mike's Song: Theme from Mission: Impossible tease by Lalo Schifrin at 4:01. Love the note Trey holds in the 7-minute range, it kind of messes up and then he finds another one. The soloing he gets onto in the 9-minute range is beautiful, full of soul. Must hear Phish! He is channeling Pink Floyd here ladies and gentlemen. Page is playing around with Keyboard Army in the 11.5-minute range, Trey isn’t having it. He isn’t done praying to the guitar gods. Honestly that’s what this sounds like, it sounds like heaven. This is an incredible moment in the band’s history. One of the greatest Mike’s they ever played, let alone all of what they have played. Completely unique and off the cuff. And the way it effortlessly segues into Keyboard Army, this is why I PHISH. -> Keyboard Army: Standard. > Hold Your Head Up: Very brief but Page really tickles the ivories. > Suspicious Minds: Standard. > Hold Your Head Up: Standard. Carolina: Obligatory. A Day in the Life: Standard. ENCORE: Good Times Bad Times: This one has a little extra juice; Trey’s tone just sounds so bad ass. Summary: Replay value: MFMF, Simple, Bowie, Mike’s!!!!! Mike’s is an all-timer and that passage with Trey doing otherworldly stuff is some of my favorite music on the planet. Listen to that at all costs.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews
Support Phish.net & Mbird


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2022  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode